I have turned off the setting ‘track emails sent between dynamics 365 users as two activities’ for my environment when an email is tracked from Outlook (using Dynamics 365 App for Outlook) to Dynamics. However, upon sending an email (from one Dynamics user to another), the sending user tracks regarding to a record and the receiving user cannot see that the email is being tracked in Outlook. So, the receiving user also tracks the email to Dynamics. Now there are two identical records in Dynamics, one with status reason Sent and the other Received. The personalization setting for both users is set to Email messages in response to Dynamics 365 email.
Why is this still happening after I turned off setting?